Upon arrival there was not someone waiting for us to get through the visa process. It had been a long 24 hours of travel only to be extended. As a result we missed out on being able to get dinner when we arrived because it was so late at night. We were told we would be provided with a cell phone when we arrived however only a SIM card was offered and both my husband and I only had an iPhone which does not take a SIM card. The vespa tour took us to a restaurant that had 90 percent shell fish on the menu; I indicated I was allergic. The cruise had terrible food; both of us had food severe GI issues for days. The day trip was on an uncomfortable boat for 8 hours that did not have umbrellas on the deck so we were burned. In Seoul we were given expired tickets to go to the tower and had to purchase our tickets again. We asked tour guide to do a half day tour instead of full as we were still recovering from food poisoning. He did not allow this and we had to start the tour at 9 am(7am from time change-hotel arrival 8 pm the night before). Chen Sea was beautiful but the activities, hammocks and pool closes at 6pm. Felt confined to room after that.
The bike ride on the Halong bay trip was fun, The first tour guide was enjoyable and helpful. Spa treatments at Chen Sea were amazing, Hanoi was great. Food in Chen sea breakfast buffet and Seoul was delicious!
I would look up the air quality and condition of the land. Go through a different travel agency. Ask for 2-3 hotels/resorts per location to choose from.
Travel Company's Comments
Thank you very much for taking the time to give your feedback on your trip. I’m also disappointed in the things that went wrong for you and hope you appreciated our effort to address the things that you took the time to inform us about.
Unfortunately, there was a miscommunication between our ground operators and the Saigon Airport’s fast track service, which resulted in your missing the fast track service on arrival. I completely understand how this would be an immediate disappointment and frustration for you. Fortunately, you were able to make it through immigration and collect your luggage, and call our Vietnamese customer service team as I explained you should do during our pre-departure phone call in situations like this. By the time you exited the airport, your guide was there waiting for you to transfer you to your hotel. We reimbursed you while you were still in the country for the visa fee and fast track service that you missed. In addition, we also arranged a complimentary private romantic beach side candle-lit dinner with sparkling wine at your resort on Phu Quoc.
We did promise you a local mobile phone for your use while in Vietnam and I was disappointed to only learn from you after you completed your trip that just a prepaid SIM card was provided. If you would have let us know about this at the time, we would have immediately arranged to get you a phone. Some clients prefer to have a prepaid SIM card so they can have access to all of their phone’s features.
I’m sorry to hear that you got food poisoning towards the end of your time in Vietnam and I understand how that would have impacted your enjoyment of the rest of your trip. You did not let our customer service team or myself know of your illness and if you needed to see a doctor. I’ve asked you that if you truly think that you got it on the cruise, please confirm that with me so that we can bring it to the attention of that company and make sure they improve their food handling standards. However, you have not responded. The cruise you took is one of the most luxurious on Ha Long Bay, with unique and interesting activities away from the crowds of other tourist boats and feedback about it from all other clients is overwhelmingly positive. However, we have forwarded your feedback to the cruise company and they have taken note and will try to address the issues you mentioned.
I understand that you were given expired tower tickets in Seoul and had to repurchase them…and that must have been very frustrating. We have heard back from the guide, saying that using those expired pre-purchased tickets hadn’t been a problem for them before, but still no excuse really. I’m glad they reimbursed you and you were still able to visit the tower.
I’m also sorry that you felt pressured to do a longer version of the tour in Seoul than you wanted to based on how you were feeling. From what I understand, the guide just wanted you to be able to see the most interesting parts of the tour that only happen in the morning and that he discussed that with you and you agreed on the itinerary. But still, he should have had more empathy to understand your situation and request.
I’m not sure if you realized it because you didn’t acknowledge it, but prior to your departure we arranged some other services to help ensure a great experience for you. First, when the room category that we quoted for 5 nights at your beach resort was not available due to the short notice of your booking, we upgraded your room to a beach front villa at our cost. We also arranged for a complimentary lunch to be a welcome surprise on your first day in Ho Chi Minh City.
We truly try to go above and beyond with our service levels for our clients and regret that we weren’t able to satisfy you. We have already addressed the mistakes that you experienced with our ground operators so that they do not happen again.
Each review is written by a verified traveler who was matched by Zicasso to the reviewed agency. Traveler must have purchased and traveled.
Zicasso matches you with the world’s best travel specialists.
Get Your Trip Planned
"Our travel agent listened to us and noted the type of experience we were looking for and she delivered us a perfect itinerary...
"First of all, our tour planner is awesome – she and the travel team helped us plan our trip – everything from airline, to...
Copyright © 2020 Zicasso, Inc. All Rights Reserved. CST 2124858-50.
Headquarters: 1580 W. El Camino Real, Suite 14,
Mountain View, CA 94040, USA
Denver Branch: 1407 Larimer Street, Suite 300,
Denver, CO 80202, USA