The destinations were good and the reccomended restaurants were good.
However the travel company was not very organized.
There were several occasions that went wrong.
In Madrid - The tour was fine but the guide did not seem to like very much what she was doing. It was a semi private tour. We were in our honeymoon and the hotel had champagne for us so that was very nice.
In Toledo - The semi private tour was great , with one guide and three couples, and the guide was very good, enthusiastic and explained everything very well. This part of the trip was 100% excellent!
In Segovia and Avila - This was when I was very disappointed. I had requested a semi-private tour (which I had imagined would be with 10-15 people) but there were 25-30 people in that group. It was very unpleasant and the food was terrible.
In Sevilla - This was my favorite part of the trip. The hotel was unbelievable, very organized and lovely! A little hard to find, but worth it. The city was very nice also. However, the travel company failed here because we were supposed to have a private tour this day and the guide simply did not show up at the meeting point, and nobody contacted us. So we were there waiting for 30-40 minutes with no one. The company offered to send another guide free of charge, but by then we were very disappointed and not in the mood, so we just enjoyed Sevilla ourselves.
In Granada - This was were the travel company failed the most. The private tour was good and we were very lucky because there were not a lot of tourist around and enjoyed the Alhambra very much. Hotel was pleasant as well. BUT, when we got to the airport to head to Barcelona, our flight simply did not exist! Someone in the company made a mistake in reservation and got us a flight for a different day. Since there were no flights during the next 12 hours, they sent a private driver and picked us up in the Granada airport and we drove a little less than 3 hours to the airport in Sevilla where we caught a flight 2 hours later. The travel company did their best to fix the situation, but nevertheless, we were very disappointed.
In Barcelona - Tour was okay. (semi private)
In Montserrat - Tour was good, we enjoyed the wine and tapas tour more than expected and the guide was great and very passionate of his work. (Semi private)
Definitely hotel in Sevilla and La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona.
I would not hire the guides that were not enthusiastic with their work.
I would not do Segovia and Avila in one day.
I would not eat the meal offered during the tour and would look for better restaurants.
TRAVEL COMPANY COMMENTS:
Thank you very much for reaching out to us. It is because of your honest feedback that we can take corrective actions and ultimately improve the quality of our services. We are very sorry that you did not have a perfect honeymoon, as this was our sole intention. Allow us to respond to your comments.
When you initially presented your request, your budget was 4,000 – 5,000 USD per person, and this is a decent budget for 10 nights. We then presented a fully private itinerary for 7,400 Euros for both of you which was less than your initial budget. You asked us to reduce the price but keep the same quality. We tried our best, but ultimately price & quality have a direct relationship with each other. We kept on trimming down the price until it reached 4,500 Euros for both of you which includes 10 nights in 4* superior hotels, breakfasts, transfers, tours, internal flights and unlimited support. We also did mention that the group tours are not as good as private tours. We always recommend private tours, and we did take on your proposal because we saw that the budget was good. However, when you asked us to drop the price, we did not want to give up on your trip and saved no expense in making it happen and having our advisors plan a phenomenal trip for you and your husband.
Our private guides are employed by us and we have full control over the trip, itinerary and schedule of events. However, group tours are outsourced and sometimes the supplier might say small group tour – but then increase the number of tourists to make more money. This is what happened to your tour in Avila & Segovia – which we refunded you directly (even though we got no refund from the supplier). We apologized and cut our relationship with the supplier directly but that was the extent of what we could do. Regarding the food, we do get conflicting opinions, some people love it and others do not, we actually added it to your tour without charging you, thinking you might like it because of the traditional setting and the quality.
Regarding Seville, it is true that the guide did not show up. When we contacted him, he was on his way to see you but was in no condition to do the tour. He did not want to lose you as a client but he was very sick. He came down with a terrible virus the night before and thought that he would sleep it off. When we got in touch with him, he was in no shape. However, this is not your problem of course. We refunded the tour directly and managed to get you another guide within 15 minutes. You mentioned that your husband is furious and does not want any tour. So we invited you to a dinner at one of Sevill’e best restaurants that evening.
After your incident in Segovia, we just wanted you to have a good time on the rest of your trip. So actually we did not get lucky at the Alhambra tour because there were less people as you said, but we physically blocked out more spaces so that you will have less people with you. This cost us 4 times the amount but did it gladly to avoid a situation where you are not satisfied.
Regarding your flight, you are absolutely correct. The mistake did happen with the reservations department. You were booked on a different flight. We always ask the traveler to cross check that the information is correct as well but that does not matter. Mistakes do happen and we learn from them. What is more important is how we resolve them. We sent you a 2017 Mercedes S Class to transfer you to Sevilla airport from Granada and booked you a flight directly afterwards for the same day. The drive alone was 600 Euros and 250€ more in flights. We gladly absorbed everything and fixed the situation within 15 minutes. –All in all you were 2 hours delayed in getting to Barcelona. I believe that we handled the situation well. Thanks to your input, we will now triple check all vouchers and ask that our clients do the same, thank you for your honest feedback.
Diana, we really wish you and your husband had a good time despite all this. Again, we are very sorry but we did learn quite a few things from this experience. In our efforts to make your dream honeymoon come true, we ended up paying much more than earning. As I mentioned, our objective is to make the best travel experience in Spain for our dear clients. I just want you to know that we designed your trip with all our care and love, I hope you have a good memory of Spain.
Thank you very much.
Each review is written by a verified traveler who was matched by Zicasso to the reviewed agency. Traveler must have purchased and traveled.
Zicasso matches you with the world’s best travel specialists.
Get Your Trip Planned
"Working with these travel agents was such a joy. Communicating with them was so easy as they always made themselves readily...
Copyright © 2021 Zicasso, Inc. All Rights Reserved. CST 2124858-50.
Headquarters: 650 Castro St., Suite 120-447,
Mountain View, CA 94041, USA