Overall the trip was wonderful and we had a great time. Most of our drivers and tour guides were exceptional and the reason we did not give five stars was due to the following items:
- Genealogist - I was only told one month in advance of the trip to contact the genealogist. Due to the late timing the genealogist was unable to get some of the information before we arrived. This is something that could have been avoided if we were notified earlier to contact her. We are currently waiting for the results.
- Trip from Vienna to Budapest - the transfer from Vienna to Budapest had a few issues. Firstly we felt the stop in Bratislava was not worthwhile and would not have recommended that. Secondly, the drive from Bratislava to Budapest should have taken two hours, but when we were thirty kilometers away the driver had to take a half hour stop, which prolonged the journey. When we arrived in Budapest, he wanted to drop us off 200 m away from the hotel because he could not figure out how to get to our hotel. The trip from Vienna to Budapest should have taken a total of 2.5 hours had we driven directly but it ended up wasting our entire day.
Finding my husbands childhood home. Visiting Krakow and learning the history of our ancestors.
I would have chosen to either stay in Budapest or Vienna for a longer period of time rather than including both.
TRAVEL COMPANY COMMENTS:
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear you enjoyed yourexperience with us. However sorry that you were not fully satisfiedwith some of our services. We reviewed these issues in detail andwould like to offer our feedback.
Regarding the genealogist, our staff started working on that matter inlate May. We had previously worked with one partner who providedpositive results so we decided to use them again. For over 2 months wetried to work with them - went on two in person meetings, sent all therequired info and followed up constantly so were hoping for someresult as they promised. In July we started calling them every day buteventually they stopped responding. We then decided to find analternative - they responded very quickly and got some result almostright away. We exchanged plenty of emails with you and the newgenealogist and she also met you in person in Warsaw and went overall of the results. She also promised to send you more results afterthe tour. We do apologize for not being able to get you more resultsbefore your trip. Unfortunately we made a mistake by choosing thefirst genealogist and by the time we found another genealogist, it wastoo late to get all the results before the trip. Unfortunately it is avery time consuming and long process so even the advance notice withthe second genealogist was not enough.
Regarding the transfer from Vienna to Budapest I am sorry to hear youdid not feel like the stop in Bratislava was worthwhile. We usuallyhave clients make this stop and always receive very positive feedback.The drive from Bratislava to Budapest did indeed take a bit more than2 hours, depending on the traffic this can typically take up to 3hours. We contacted our transfer provider to get their feedback andthey replied that according to the law the driver has the right totake a short break after a 2 hour drive and you also required abathroom stop so he thought it would be a good opportunity for him torest a bit as well. Once in Budapest the driver stopped on the mainroad to see if there is enough place for parking in front of the hotelsince he had a larger bus with luggage trailer and the access there ispartially a pedestrian area. He could not block the entire street sohe wanted to make sure he was allowed to park there and follow thetraffic rules.
We are truly sorry for an inconvenience caused because of theseissues. We hope this did not put a damper on what otherwise from yourfeedback appears to be an excellent trip.
Each review is written by a verified traveler who was matched by Zicasso to the reviewed agency. Traveler must have purchased and traveled.
Zicasso matches you with the world’s best travel specialists.
Get Your Trip Planned
"We enjoyed it and our travel company did a good job setting up our accommodations, transfers and excursions."
"The boutique accommodations, private tours and restaurant recommendations were all excellent. I would recommend this travel...
Copyright © 2021 Zicasso, Inc. All Rights Reserved. CST 2124858-50.
Headquarters: 650 Castro St., Suite 120-447,
Mountain View, CA 94041, USA