This travel company provided adequate information on the tours I made.
Together with the travel consultant, we decided on an itinerary.
The vouchers for travel were sent to me by mail as I don't live in the same area as the travel company.
Since receiving the travel vouchers, I have had no contact with the agency.
There was nothing special about the this travel company.
On my documentation there was a contact number for Brasil. A tour company was given as the contact agency and phone numbers were provided. I tried phoning this number, for 2 different purposes.
The first was to add a tour to the end of my trip as it was rainy in Rio de Janerio. I was told I should contact my travel company and not the tour company.
The second contact was made to get a starting time for my Minas Gerais tour. The phone calls were not answered and the emails not answered.
My question for this operator is: if there was an emergency how would you respond? Maybe this contact number in Brasil was useless..... NOT IMPRESSED.
The trip to the Pantanal area of Brasil was my focus for travel and was a good experience. Luckily I traveled with others while there who were very compatible.
I was surprised that there wasn't more "experiencing nature". The guides at Araras seemed to have an agenda to complete and then get back to the pousada as quickly as possible. I am interested in both fauna and flora and found that the guide new nothing of the plant life, the names of trees, or flowers!
The second tour I took was very interesting too. But it was described as a "cultural tour". I think the culture is more than visiting churches and would have enjoyed seeing where and how things are made. Brasil had a good home industry making soaps and lotions, that would have been interesting to learn about.
The Pousada where I stayed in Tiradentes was lovely but a long way for a single person to go out for a meal.. Luckily, I had some provisions with me so I didn't need to take a taxi to and from the village to find food...
I did enjoy visiting the gold mine and the Inhotim Botanical garden and art gallery near Belo Horizonte.
The night before starting the Minas Gerais tour I stayed at a hotel in Ipanema. Not sure why I spent the money to get to the city from the airport and back to stay at a hotel in Ipanema when the best hotel I stayed at the whole trip was beside the airport and it had a great swimming pool....
Glad I went to Brasil but wouldn't take this trip again!
TRAVEL COMPANY COMMENTS
Thank you for your review, it’s good to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your trip and are happy you went to Brazil. I am however, very sorry to hear some of your needs and expectations were not met. We take all comments very seriously and strive to make every trip perfect, so of course I’m very disappointed.
I was surprised you experienced trouble connecting with our partner there; we have not had any problems in the past. We do send vouchers in advance, as you mentioned, which contain contact information for each provider and hotel. In addition to that, a cell phone number for after hours and weekends for our partner in Rio de Janeiro is included on each voucher.
I understand you were able to reach them by phone during the weekend with a question about the weather, adding a tour to the end of your trip as well as reconfirming the timing for your excursion the following day. The message was followed up by an email with a weather report and the suggestion you ask us to add the new arrangements to the end of the pre-planned services. We would be able to offer the air tickets and land package; process the payments from the US, thus avoiding possible foreign transaction fees and wire the funds on your behalf. This is normally beneficial to the client, but I realize it may have been frustrating. We will review the procedure to see if it can be improved, and appreciate your input.
I understand the pick-up time for your tour was relayed during this call, but evidently there was a miscommunication, and this left you wondering what the timing would be. I’m very sorry, I know how stressful it can be not having the information you need to be prepared.
Again, thank you for your input and for traveling with us.
Each review is written by a verified traveler who was matched by Zicasso to the reviewed agency. Traveler must have purchased and traveled.
Zicasso matches you with the world’s best travel specialists.
Get Your Trip Planned
"Our agent took care of everything and made great recommendations."
" I felt confident [our agent] knew what she was doing for us, relieving me from the stress of the unknown traveling to a...
"Booking and planning the trip was very easy with this travel agency..."
Copyright © 2020 Zicasso, Inc. All Rights Reserved. CST 2124858-50.
Headquarters: 1580 W. El Camino Real, Suite 14,
Mountain View, CA 94040, USA
Denver Branch: 1407 Larimer Street, Suite 300,
Denver, CO 80202, USA