The trip was amazing but much of the planning/instruction on the part of the company was poor. Some directions were left out entirely which caused us to miss one of our activities which cost $100. Another set of directions was completely wrong which took us 4 hours out of the way at nearly 11:00 pm through a dangerous mountain pass.
The towns that we traveled to and the unique experiences that we had. Our local guide in Kyoto was amazing.
Use a different company and spend an additional night in Kanazawa while omitting Tokyo
Travel Company's Comments:
We provide all of our guests with 24/7 travel assistance via phone. On the evening we received the above guests’ call regarding the inaccurate directions and resulting nighttime, mountain pass consequences, we quickly offered them a choice of alternate plans and compensation for their lost time and money.
The choices we offered them were as follows:
Option 1 - Stay overnight at their then-current location at a same level hotel that would be booked and paid for by us. They would then drive to the originally-planned destination the following day with all transit costs covered by us.
Option 2 - Continue driving to the originally-planned destination, be reimbursed for the cost of the hotel for all nights that had been reserved at that location. All reimbursements would be hand-delivered to them via our guide whom they would be meeting in Tokyo later on in their journey.
Our guests chose option 2 after much discussion and other preemptive troubleshooting. After working together to solve the problem, we received no other word from our guests, and felt relieved thinking that their journey continued on from that point unhindered. Considering that guests can contact us at any time through our 24/7 service, we were highly surprised and saddened to learn through the above review that they missed out on a planned activity. We would have surely sprung to action yet again had they informed us.
We encourage all our guests to contact us directly through our 24/7 phone service should they experience any problem or have any question. We work to custom craft dream experiences for all of our guests, and we do our utmost to solve any issues that may occur along the way as best that can be under the circumstances.
As a final note, we are happy Amy and her partner enjoyed their trip in Japan.
We thank everyone for their feedback, and we take it seriously, trying to always thrive for excellent services.
Each review is written by a verified traveler who was matched by Zicasso to the reviewed agency. Traveler must have purchased and traveled.
Zicasso matches you with the world’s best travel specialists.
Get Your Trip Planned
"Ours was a combination of guided and self guided trip, and [the travel company's] guides and drivers were punctual and...
"[Our travel agency] stayed in constant contact while in Japan and answered any questions we had during our stay."
"...everything was planned nicely. We had two guided days and the rest were by ourselves, with a very detailed folder to guide...
Copyright © 2019 Zicasso, Inc. All Rights Reserved. CST 2124858-50.
Headquarters: 1580 W. El Camino Real, Suite 14,
Mountain View, CA 94040, USA
Denver Branch: 1437 Larimer Street, Suite 200,
Denver, CO 80202, USA