While the over all trip was great we were disappointed with some last minute cancellations and some inaccuracies in the documents we received. The hotel in Florence was described as having a roof top patio- but this has not existed for 5 years! Several of the restaurant recommendations were bad- either because the quality or the place was now closed. I think you need to update your recommendations.
The Tuscany location and stay were great. We also enjoyed the Amalfi Coast and in particular the stay in Ravello.
Most likely we will arrange the next trip ourselves. We would make sure the additions such as cooking classes, ceramics and trip to Pisa were truly confirmed. Also we would review the itinerary more carefully as part of the trip was very inefficient- such as the trip to San Gimignano only allowed us 30 minutes in the town. The location of the cooking class was too far so this was poorly coordinated. The return to the US was poorly planned and involved two cars, a train and a night at the airport hotel. We could probably have stayed another night in Ravello and used a car service to go directly to the airport at similar cost and greater convenience.
We were not given enough information about the arrival in Ravello - the hotel was great but to get there we had to walk without any instructions on how to find the hotel.
Travel Company's Comments:
Thank you for sending this feedback. I'm disappointed to hear that this party did not fully enjoy their trip, as the last time they traveled with me was a great experience, for both of us. Feedback is always important, both good and bad, in order to strengthen areas of my trip planning process. However, in the case of some of this feedback, I feel that a response is needed.
The planning process through the Zicasso interface began at the end of May, but the client wasn't available to really review or consider the trip until mid to late June. A month's delay in high season can cause an entire trip to be rewritten or changed, as services and hotels can sell out overnight. We were able to keep most of the trip intact, however some of his services were affected. His chosen cooking lesson in Sorrento was booked solid, the available solutions wouldn't work, so the service was canceled and refunded immediately. The ceramics provider at his Tuscany hotel had an accident and was unable to host any classes - an unavoidable issue. I have my Operations department addressing the problems with the Pisa tour supplier, as that was a breakdown of their policies. I'm sorry that it affected this client's trip, and with their helpful feedback, I believe that we'll be able to solve those issues for future clients.
Thomas specifically mentions a roof-top terrace for the hotel in Florence, but I cannot see where he would have gotten the impression that one existed, as it was not mentioned in the hotel description provided. The only thing that I can think is that he looked at descriptions of room types at the hotel, and saw the description of the Pool Suite, which has a roof-top terrace...but he didn't book that room category.
While Thomas does say that overall the trip was "great," I'm sorry that they had any twinges of disappointment. Again, thank you for providing the feedback, and I hope that my reply has cleared up any questions you may have had.
Each review is written by a verified traveler who was matched by Zicasso to the reviewed agency. Traveler must have purchased and traveled.
Zicasso matches you with the world’s best travel specialists.
Get Your Trip Planned
"Beth tailored the trip to our exact specifications, made fantastic suggestions, and took care of any modifications we asked...
"Having all of the transfers between places and to and from airports, etc. took any stress out of traveling."
"All of our excursion and tour guides were on time, professional, and added their own unique style to every city."
Copyright © 2021 Zicasso, Inc. All Rights Reserved. CST 2124858-50.
Headquarters: 650 Castro St., Suite 120-447,
Mountain View, CA 94041, USA